March 18, 2013 - Updated on January 25, 2016

Our Prizes

------ Every year, Reporters Without Borders pays tribute to defence and promotion of freedom of information throughout the world, awarding two Prizes. With the Reporters Without Borders' Prize, awarded in December and the Netizen Prize, on the World Day against Cyber Censorship, the organization honors the work of bloggers, journalists and media around the world.
--------- entr0<-] -# [Reporters Without Borders' Press Freedom Prize -# Netizen Prize --------- entr1<-] // REPORTERS WITHOUT BORDERS' PRESS FREEDOM PRIZE [↑ The Reporters Without Borders Prize has been awarded every year since 1992 to a journalist and a news media in different parts of the world that have made a significant contribution to the defence and promotion of press freedom. It is presented in December by an international jury/panel of journalists and human rights activists. - Reporters without borders' prize laureates since 1992 - 2012: Journalist: Mazen Darwish - Syria Media: 8Sobh - Afghanistan --------- - 2011: Journalist: Ali Ferzat - Syria Media: Weekly Eleven News - Burma --------- - 2010: Journalist: Abdolreza Tajik - Iran Media: Radio Shabelle - Somalia --------- - 2009: Journalist: Amira Hass - Israel Media: Dosh - Chechnya --------- - 2008: Journalist : Ricardo Gonzales Alfonso - Cuba Media: Radio Free NK - North Korea Cyberdissidents: Zarganar - Burma and Nay Phone Latt - Burma --------- - 2007: Journalist : Seyoum Tsehaye - Eritrea Media: Democratic Voice of Burma - Burma Press Freedom Defender: Kareem Amer - Egypt Special China Prize: Hu Jia, Zeng Jinyan - China --------- - 2006: Journalist: U Win Tin - Burma Media: Novaya Gazeta - Russia Press Freedom Defender: "Journalist in danger" - DRCongo Cyberdissident: Guillermo Fariñas Hernández - Cuba --------- - 2005: Journalist: Zhao Yan - China Media: Tolo Tv - Afghanistan Press Freedom Defender: National Union of Somalian Journalists - Somalia Cyberdissident: Massoud Hamid - Syria --------- - 2004: Journalist: Hafnaoui Ghoul / Algeria Media: Zeta - Mexico Press Freedom Defender: Liu Xiaobo - China --------- - 2003: Journalist: Ali Lmrabet - Morocco Media: The Daily News - Zimbabwe Press Freedom Defender: Michèle Montas - Haiti --------- - 2002: Grigory Pasko - Russia --------- - 2001: Reza Alijani - Iran - 2000: Carmen Gurruchaga - Spain - 1999: San San Nweh - Burma - 1997: Raúl Rivero - Cuba - 1996: Isik Yurtçu - Turkey - 1995: Christina Anyanwu - Nigeria - 1994: André Sibomana - Rwanda - 1993: Wang Juntao - China - 1992: Zlatko Dizdarevic - Bosnia-Herzegovina --------- ------ entr2<-] // NETIZEN PRIZE [↑ Reporters Without Borders launched the World Day against cyber-censorship back in 2008 in order to protect a single Internet, free and accessible to all. Google has partnered with Reporters Without Borders in 2010 to award the annual Netizen who recognizes a user, blogger or cyber-dissident who has distinguished himself through investigative reporting, projects or other initiatives which has helped advance online freedom of information and which is likely to inspire fellow netizens around the world. The laureate receives a prize money of EUR 2,500. Chosen by the Research Department of Reporters Without Borders, the Netizen Prize nominees are submitted to the vote of an international jury composed of Reporters Without Borders sections' presidents around the world. For the first time in 2013, the Netizen of the Year was elected by the Internet public, who were invited to cast their vote online. - NETIZEN PRIZE LAUREATES - 2013 : Huynh Ngoc Chenh (Vietnam) « This award represents an inspiration to me as well as for all bloggers, independent journalists in Vietnam, those who face the restrictions about the right of freedom of expression. » ----- - 2012 : The media center of the Local Coordination Committees (Syria) « The Netizen Prize proves that our voices were heard and that we succeeded in delivering the stories of millions of Syrians who are struggling on the ground to achieve what they have always dreamed - to live in freedom and dignity. » ----- - 2011 : Blog (Tunisia) « This award is not only a tribute to Nawaat but to all our fellow journalists who often risk their lives to keep working in countries where freedom of expression is suppressed. » ----- - 2010 : Iranian women’s rights activists of the Change for Equality ( website « This prize is not just for single website. It rewards the efforts of all those who fight for free expression in Iran. Some of them are in prison. I dedicate this prize to them. »