The participants

The group of stakeholders, composed of around 120 representatives of media outlets, regulatory authorities, tech companies, academia and international organizations, collaborated to draft a set of indicators to identify trustworthy journalism and thus, guide both human and algorithmic decision making in news distribution and consumption.

Hosted by the French Standardization Association (AFNOR) and co-hosted by its German equivalent the German Institute for Standardization (DIN).

Stakeholders have been divided into 4 groups : three so-called drafting committees and an advisory technical task-force. The JTI’s drafting committees are composed of industry professionals only, representing major media outlets like AFP, AP and dpa, the BBC, NRK and France Télévision, RTL Group, Gazeta Wyborcza, Tagesspiegel or Tamedia, as well as professional organizations and NGOs like the EBU or the Ethical Journalism Network. 

Selected participants in the development stage of the JTI Standard include, in no particular order, the BBC, RTL Group (Luxembourg), Gazeta Wyborcza (Poland), Tagesspiegel (Germany), Tamedia (Switzerland), Norsk Rikskringkasting (NRK, Norway), TT News Agency (Sweden), Associated Press (USA), Deutsche Presse Agentur (dpa, Germany), World Wide Web Consortium (W3C), Google, Facebook, City University of New York (CUNY, USA), Ethical Journalism Network (EJN), Swiss Press Council, Society of Professional Journalists (SPJ, USA), Association of Taiwanese Journalists, Journalists Association of South Korea, The Independent Monitor for the Press (IMPRESS, UK), All-Russia State Television and Radio Broadcasting Company (VGTRK, Russia), Autorità per le Garanzie nelle Comunicazioni (AGCOM, Italy), Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media (BKM, Germany), European Association for the Co-ordination of Consumer Representation in Standardisation (ANEC), Internews (UK), Thomson Foundation (UK), Free Press Unlimited (FPU, the Netherlands), Fondation Hirondelle (Switzerland), Civil (USA), NewsGuard, Global Disinformation Index (GDI), United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO).

The CEN Workshop Agreement (CWA) is chaired by Claudio Cappon, the former Director General of the Italian public broadcaster RAI, while Olaf Steenfadt, a former journalist with German media outlets ARD and ZDF, represents RSF.