July 19, 2021

Pierre Haski reelected RSF president

The board of governors of Reporters Without Borders (RSF) that was elected on 2 June chose a new executive bureau with a one-year mandate on 5 July. France Inter journalist Pierre Haski and Françoise Sivignon, a member of France’s Economic, Social and Environmental Council, were reelected president and vice-president respectively. Former RSF Switzerland president Gérard Tschopp is the new treasurer.

The executive bureau’s other members are: Antoine Kaburahé (the founder of of the Burundian newspaper Iwacu), Paola Sandoval (journalist and honorary president of France’s Foreign Press Association), Elaine Sciolino (journalist and former New York Times bureau chief in Paris) and Dan Shefet (a lawyer specialising in online human rights). The General Assembly held on 2 June added seven new members to the board of governors.

“We are very honoured to have all these profiles and all this expertise on our board of governors to help shape RSF’s strategy,” RSF director-general Christophe Deloire said. “In the new board’s composition, we have continued to increase the number of women and to incorporate profiles that are more international and more diverse, reflecting our identify.”

The other members of the board of governors are:

  • Michael Bergmeijer, former Reuters Europe CEO

  • Angela Charlton, Associated Press bureau chief in Paris

  • Phil Chetwynd, Agence France-Presse news director

  • Elaine Cobbe, CBS Paris correspondent and Dart Center representative

  • Michel Cormier, former head of news at Radio Canada

  • Louis Dreyfus, chairman of the Le Monde group

  • Frédéric Filloux, publisher of the Monday Note newsletter 

  • Annette Gerlach, Arte presenter

  • Kadri Gursel, Turkish journalist and commentator

  • Julie Joly, head of the Journalists Training Centre (CFJ) in Paris

  • Cécile Mégie, head of Radio France International (RFI)

  • Paul Moreira, founder of the Premières Lignes news agency

  • Eyoum Ngangue, founder of African Journalists in Exile (JAFE)

  • Martine Ostrovsky, lawyer and lecturer in media law

  • Michael Rediske, president of RSF International and RSF Germany

  •  Edith Cachera Rodriguez, vice-president of RSF Spain

  • Anne-Cécile Robert, journalist with Le Monde Diplomatique

  • Abdoulaye Traoré, journalist with Romainville webradio